top of page

Horizons Week: Art and Design!

Hi! So this past week I had Art and Design camp! Sooo these are what happened:

Monday

Today I took my school bus to school with Harshita and Victoria at 7:50 and arrived at 8:10. We had nothing to do so we just hanged until 8:45. Then, we went to the careers room at 8:45 to meet and discuss about the week.

At 11:00, we boarded our bus to central and went into our seperate groups (our group consisted of Yoyo, Cherie, Harshita, Victoria, Anthea, and me, and we were called BubbleTeam!) and went around central to take some photos.

Places we went to take photos:

Central Escalator

Peddar Street

SOHO

PMQ

MTR (duh)

Holly Brown Ice Cream

Candy Shop

Pressed Juices *YAS!!*

Here are some of the photos that I took

We will be editing these and using the effect Splash to create a dynamic effect with a black and white filter with blobs of colour! The topic that we have chosen is "ignorance is bliss" and we are focusing on daily objects or things that people won't often think about but play a crucial part in their life.

Yep, that's all!

Tuesday

Today I went to gather with Cherie and Harshita at the HKU station and went to the E2 Sheung Wan station Exit. We got to decorate our plain white t-shirts provided by Art Jamming HK (Betty is our tutor, she's the head of the company and she's kinda mean and in need of attention but she's nice overall). We meet at 9:00 in the Sheung Wan Station and proceeded to go through the E2 Exit. At 9:30, we started brainstorming and stuff and I came up with lots of ideas: Hotline Bling, stay weird, gomeNASAi, check in fly lice (chicken friend rice), etc. I decided to do the Hotline Bling and gomeNASAi partly cuz the others were weird and Victoria was already doing the stay weird shirt.

We worked on these for a few hours for a shirt and here are the results!

(Also, bare in mind that I got kinda hungry and went to Starbucks for a green tea frap and a mushroom and cheese pocket! Yum!)

Wednesday

Today I went to gather with Cherie and Harshita at the HKU station and went to the E2 Sheung Wan station Exit, same as yesterday. Then, we went to the art jamming place and Betty did some art coaching and techniques that we could use and we started doing canvas painting. I chose this image:

After the day, my result was this:

Our canvas was a huge one and it took me about 4 hrs to paint it.

I will submit this to an art festival called Clockenflap! :D

Thursday

Today I forgot to take the school bus to school, so I took at taxi to school. We met at the careers room and moved on to the DT rooms at 8:45. Basically, we made jewelry and learnt how to make it for the whole day.

I made a virgo sign out of brass and the chain was made out of brass too.

Friday

We went to SCAD, the Savannah College of Art and Design and learnt about the history of the school, visited the jail cells and courts, historical sites within the school, and learnt how to animate and did a photography competiton! Sadly, we didn't win, but I thought that our group was the most professional. (P.S. Cherie boasted about how she took all the photos. jkjk)

Overall, what I learnt from this trip was really memorable and next year I will be sure to choose another more challenging activity!

BAII!

-Britt

#1 

Find inspiration on sites like Pinterest, YouTube and Tumblr. 

 

#2

Start questioning yourself if you have the materials for the DIY project and if where you live have these materials. (If you want, you can also consider the budget.)

 

#3

Collect the materials and follow instructions of someone else's or your own. Done!

3 GOLDEN RULES: DIY TIPS

bottom of page